News FlashBlackhouse presents One-On-One Training Read More »

Strikeforce adds Cavalcante vs. Romero – Sept. 10

Strikeforce adds Cavalcante vs. Romero – Sept. 10

August 19, 2011

The lineup for Strikeforce’s Cincinnati debut now has eight official contests.

Strikeforce brass recently announced that a previously reported contest between Rafael “Feijao” Cavalcante (10-3 MMA, 3-2 SF) and Yoel Romero (4-0 MMA, 0-0 SF) will take place at the Sept. 10 event, and Mike Kyle (18-8-1 MMA, 2-3-1 SF) will also face light heavyweight Marcos Rogerio de Lima (8-0 MMA, 0-0 SF).
“Strikeforce Heavyweight World Grand Prix: Barnett vs. Kharitonov” takes place Sept. 10 at U.S. Bank Arena, and the night’s main card airs on Showtime.
The two newly official bouts will take place on the evening’s preliminary card.
Cavalcante fights for the first time since losing his light-heavyweight title via TKO to Dan Henderson in March. The loss snapped a three-fight winning streak for the Black House fighter, who won the title from Muhammed “King Mo” Lawal in August 2010.

Romero heads to Strikeforce with a perfect 4-0 record on the German fight circuit. Prior to launching his MMA career, which has included four dominating knockout victories (two via his opponents quitting), Romero won a silver medal in wrestling at the 2000 Summer Olympics.

Kyle was originally expected to face former Strikeforce champ Gegard Mousasi. However, Strikeforce execs never officially announced the contest. The sometime heavyweight fighter hopes to rebound from a TKO loss to Antonio Silva this past December at “Strikeforce: Henderson vs. Babalu.”
“Pezao” fights for the first time in 2011. The Brazilian prospect made his debut in 2009 and has opened his career with eight-straight wins. Seven of those wins have come via strikes (six by TKO, one via submission). The most recent victory was a decision win over former WEC champ Paulo Filho.
With the additions to the card, the event’s lineup now includes:

  • Josh Barnett vs. Sergei Kharitonov (heavyweight grand prix semifinal)
  • Daniel Cormier vs. Antonio Silva (heavyweight grand prix semifinal)
  • Champ Ronaldo Souza vs. Luke Rockhold (for middleweight title)
  • Roger Gracie vs. Muhammed “King Mo” Lawal
  • Maximo Blanco vs. Josh Thomson


  • Mike Kyle vs. Marcos Rogerio de Lima
  • Rafael “Feijao” Cavalcante vs. Yoel Romero
  • Jordan Mein vs. Evangelista “Cyborg” Santos

Source: MMAJunkie